Adding Pizzazz to Your Qualitative Talk

audio-icon-blue_000I’ve heard various academics and students share their qualitative research and I personally believe there’s the tendency for findings to be less exciting then I’d hoped.

Thanks to a brilliant colleague and friend of mine, Tamara Germani, I’ve learned a great way to communicate results of qualitative research. While verbally citing participant quotes or simply embedding them on your slide is fine, there’s more to it than just the words; along with the text, there’s meaning in the emphasis, emotion, intonation, and pauses of participants’ voices.

To this point, I’ve recruited a couple fellow graduate students to audiorecord some key participant quotes, which I will use to illustrate my themes and categories in an upcoming talk this Friday.

Stay tuned for audience reception!

Leave a Reply

